61st Annual OCTM Conference - Toledo, Ohio

October 13-14, 2011

toled

2011

Our Keynote Speakers

daro

Phil Daro - The Common Core

Dr. Daro serves on the mathematics working group for the Common Core Standards and will assist mathematics teachers with the transition to the new standards.

fox

Brian Ellis – Dividing Camels

Brian “Fox” Ellis is an international renown storyteller, author and educator who celebrates what is most life-affirming in the human experience through poetry, non-fiction narrative, and folklore. Since 1980 he has been touring the world collecting and telling stories. He has been a keynote speaker at hundreds of conferences, and his presentations are always a mix of pedagogy and best practices, humor and classroom tested lesson plans. He is also the author of fourteen books, including “Content Area Reading Writing and Storytelling,” that conveys creating writing across the curriculum, and an award winning children’s picture book, “The Web at Dragonfly Pond.” Mr. Ellis will present two additional sessions.

Thanks, Toledo, for Hosting the 61st Annual OCTM Conference!

Phil Daro Keynote Powerpoint

 

Other Conference Highlights include:

    -Approximately 160 keynote, regular, and workshop sessions
    -Exhibit hall filled with textbooks, manipulatives, and technology
    -Educators from Ohio and surrounding states to network with
    -"Prime Time"sessions Thursday Night 5-8pm
    -Reception Thursday Night 5:30pm
    -Ohio Department of Education Sessions
    -Annual OCTM Business Meeting

     

Preparations are underway for the 2011 OCTM Annual Conference in Toledo. The conference will be hosted at the SeaGate Convention Centre in downtown Toledo. The official conference hotel will be the Park Inn, which is located adjacent to the convention center and is connected by an inside walkway. For more information, contact either of the General Conference Chairs listed below. Be sure to put these dates on your calendar!

Conference Registration Forms: Word PDF

Hotel Information: PDF

Conference Program Speaker Index General Information

Conference Chairs

CHAIR POSITION
CHAIRPERSON
EMAIL
General Conference Chair Daniel Brahier brahier@bgsu.edu
Exhibitor Chair Bill Weber WWeber@UTNet.UToledo.Edu
Entertainment Co-Chair Dick Fisher Rjfisher2441@aol.com
Entertainment Co-Chair Jewel Minarcin jmminarcin@aol.com
Equipment Chair Deb Johanning debra.johanning@utoledo.edu
Hospitality Chair Greg Wisniewski gwisniewski@napoleonareaschools.org
Program Chair Deb Gallagher d-gallagher.2@onu.edu
Registration Chair Barbara Moses bmoses@bgsu.edu
Signs Co-Chair Krista Dendinger kristadendinger@yahoo.com
Signs Co-Chair Marcia Pitts marciapitts@verizon.net
Student Volunteers Chair Sarah Keane slkeane@bgsu.edu