OCTM Memorial Scholarships

2018 OCTM Memorial Scholarships
(updated information coming soon!)

2017 scholarship information:
Each fall, OCTM awards six $750 scholarships. Anyone interested in applying must fit the following qualifications:
  • be a junior, senior or graduate student in the fall of 2017 at a college or university in Ohio; 
  • be enrolled in a program that leads to an Ohio Resident Educator license in a field which includes the teaching of mathematics at some level, K-12; and 
  • be a prospective first-time teacher (i.e. must not have taught professionally).
Additionally, the Sarah Greenholz* Memorial Scholarship of $1500 will be given to the top applicant who meets the following criteria.
  • The awardee of the Greenholtz Scholarship must be working toward a teaching license in a field that includes the teaching of mathematics at some level, K-12.
  • A candidate must present strong evidence of the likelihood of future success as a teacher of mathematics.
  • Individuals who have taught professionally or who have already earned a bachelor’s degree and are changing careers are not eligible for this scholarship. 
Persons interested in applying for OCTM Memorial Scholarships must download the application form and submit the completed application, official college transcript(s), institution verification form, and one letter of support from a college/university faculty member or cooperating teacher.  Click here for complete directions including submission details.

Applications must be postmarked on or before June 30, 2017.  
Please mail these items to: 
                            OCTM Scholarships 
                            c/o Linda Gojak 
                            139 Seaborn Drive 
                            Willowick, OH 44095

Questions may be addressed to Memorial Scholarship Chair, Linda Gojak, lgojak@sbcglobal.net Please use OCTM Scholarship as the Subject of your email.

*Note:  Sarah (Sally) Greenholz was a mathematics teacher and supervisor in Cincinnati.  She was a charter member of OCTM and served as vice president of NCTM from 1967 to 1969.  In 1986 Sarah received the Christofferson-Fawcett Award for Lifetime Contributions to Mathematics Education. 

2013 OCTM Scholarship Recipients

Kayla Bruggeman (Miami University, Middle Childhood Mathematics/ Science) is granted the Sarah Greenholz Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1500. 

A $750 scholarship is granted to each of the following:

  • Evan Crawford (Miami University, Integrated Mathematics)
  • Krista House (Integrated Mathematics)
  • Halie Loraditch (University of Akron, Middle Childhood Mathematics/Language Arts)
  • Catherine Anne Savage (Defiance College, Integrated Mathematics)
  • Ryan Severance (Mt. Vernon Nazarene College, Integrated Mathematics)
  • Courtney Turner (Miami University, Mathematics)

2011 OCTM Scholarship Recipients

The Sarah Greenholz Scholarship of $1500 is awarded to Megan Zapotosky, a Miami University senior majoring in Middle Childhood Mathematics and Science Education.

OCTM Scholarships of $750 are awarded to the following students majoring in Integrated Mathematics Education (grades 7-12):
  • Joseph Robert Czupryn, a graduate student at Wright State University
  • Ryan Davis, a senior at Ohio University
  • Savannah Kiser, a senior at Wittenberg University
  • Jennifer Krauss, a senior at Ohio Northern University
  • Amber Pietro, a junior at Bowling Green State University
  • Emmalou Stevens, a senior at Lake Erie College